• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Newbie here, 1969 1600-bone stock!!!

gruizer

Hey everyone, my name is Rudy and I just bought myself a 1969 1600 chamonix. I was looking through some paper work and found that the original owner bought the car in 1969 and owned it until he passed in 2005. The car has some rust but it's mostly on the trunk lid. It's virtually unmolested. I've owned a couple 2002's in the past and was wondering if anyone recomends any upgrades that I can do to give the little 1.6 liter some more hps. My plan for the car is to repaint it (original of course) and maybe put some lowering springs and supe up the engine a little so that I can use it as my daily driver. Other than that I want to leave it alone. I'm open to any coments, suggestions. Thanks.

Rudy

post-2493-13667573360443_thumb.jpg

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

knowing what I know now, I would personally leave it bone stock. I would refreshen everything, tune it and keep the original engine - maybe upgrade to a 2 liter but never get rid of the original motor. (ie store it your garage). You are now the curator of a time capsule, congratulations!

FAQ Member # 91