• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

VIN Help 72 2002

DadBod72
Go to solution Solved by Gordon,

Hi - I was hoping someone could help me get info about my 2002.  I emailed the Andreas with the BMW group and it sounds like they are in the process of moving so I will not hear from them for a while.

My VIN is 2580122.  The VIN matches on motor, under hood tag, under hood stamp and title.

Any information you can provide would be super helpful as I am new to BMW.

My car has a sunroof and I was wondering if this is a rare option or not.  Also I am not sure if the rims are factory but I have factory alloy rims.   The interior is tan.  

Thanks in advanced!

72 front.jpeg

img_8567.jpeg

img_8570.jpeg

72 roundie.jpeg

The sunroof was an option, but not extremely rare.  The early-style alloy wheels were optional over the steel wheels & available at the dealer.

John in VA

'74 tii "Juanita"  '85 535i "Goldie"  '86 535i "M-POSSTR"  

'03 530i "Titan"  '06 330ci "ZHPY"

bmw_spin.gif

First of all, matching numbers is a Good Thing for a future owner who cares for such things, as it means the engine is original to the car.  Carbureted 72 2002's VINs run from approximately 2577438 to exactly 2585187.  Since BMW uses calendar years to date their cars, while we in the US use model years, model year '72 production began on 1 Sept 1971 and ran through 31 August 1972.   If I had to hazard a guess, I'd say your car was produced sometime in December 72 or January 73, but that's just a guess.  Be patient and BMW Classic will get to your inquiry; they're moving so they can't reply until fall.

Sunroofs are not exceedingly rare and became more common in later years than the early ones.  Nice thing to have though, and they're surprisingly leak-free so long as you keep the drain hoses clear.