• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Welding 101

My first time welding was today. I have no experience prior to today aside from countless hours of YouTube videos. I have rusty rockers so I paid for a class and even brought my own materials. This was mig using flux.

I have one more class next week so if there are any pointers that are specific to 2002 sheet metal, I welcome them.

IMG_1627.jpeg

• Like 4

Series 1, 1969 2002

Instagram: joseiden_bmwerke

Welding hood with neck protection! At least some earmuffs - liquid metal in ear canal burns like mf.

I like TIG gloves for sheet metal work.

• Like 2

2002 -73 M2, 2002 -71 forced induction. bnr32 -91

What is the model of your welder?

A good ground is key.  You can get one of these things below.  Don't drop them or they break. This will help you get the ground on the panel which give you better control.   Also you may want to punch holes in the rocker and plug weld them, in that case get a hole punch.  Vice grips will also help you hold things in place. 

Fit. trim, fit, trim about a hundred times

614eDjyGz3L._AC_SX679_.jpg.84353465b09177bd376e2d5a397f207b.jpg

WWW.AMAZON.CA

Hole Punch 

WWW.AMAZON.CA

7197Q37Uu4L._AC_SX679_.jpg.f586160ca61a927375639fcc56f203bd.jpg

• Like 1

"Goosed" 1975 BMW 2002

Fill a 5 gal bucket and fill it with water and place a old bath towel in it, there will be fire at some point. also wear cotton  no synthetic cloth because you'll also set your self on fire at some point.

• Like 2

If everybody in the room is thinking the same thing, then someone is not thinking.

George S Patton 

Planning the Normandy Break out 1944