• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

weber 40's and fuel pumps

BLUNT

i see pics of guys running mechanical pumps with webers and some running electrics. i have a set of 40's ill be running on a 2.3 stroker. should i be looking for an electric pump and if so can anyone recommend a good one? i am a total rookie with carbs so im learning but i thought the side drafts didnt allow room for a mechanical pump but yet ive seen pics of people using them. thanks. i have a regulator that came with the carbs

www.BluntTech.com
FAQ Supporting Vendor
 Sales@BluntTech.com

This is what I am using since I rebuilt and re-installed my engine this past spring....a Carter 4070 low pressure fuel pump (rated at 4 psi). But, a word of caution...when fuel pressure was checked at carb right after installation, the pressure was actually higher than rated, almost 10 psi. Had to install a fuel pressure regulator and dialed the pressure down. After adjusting and testing a pressure of around 7 psi works best for my 38/38 Weber on pretty much stock engine. Engine starts easily and runs strong, with no problems with fuel delivery at any point during normal and/or "spirited" acceleration. Tim

post-1031-13667580663105_thumb.jpg

post-1031-13667580663478_thumb.jpg

The older I get the better I was!

Hi Blunt.

You will need an electric fuel pump, and pressure regulator set to about 2,5psi. Carter makes external pumps. They work okay and cost in the vicinity of $75. If you run a daily driver and don't want the constant buzz, then you can use an e21 pre-pump assembly and an external regulator. No noise, all hidden in the tank. Easy to plumb. That will allow you the full use of the trunk.

Carter pump.

crt-p4594_w.jpg

Massivescript_specs.jpg

Brake harder. Go faster.

• Administrators