• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Chris's (only02) $$32k 02

BLUNT

its real and hes been paid in full. congrats to him and to all of us. this does nothing but help all of us.

in his own words

Hey Blunt,

I’m glad you asked. I’ve always sold my cars with no reserve, and I’ve always started them at $20.02 (unless it was a 1600, then it was $16.00). This way the buyer is only separated from the next potential buyer by $100.

I wanted people to tell me what the car was worth, not the other way around. Sure, sometimes I loose, but sometimes I win. For me, I’m just hooked on building them. It’s fun, I like the process, and I’m a big fan of the car. I’m not an expert, in fact I’m constantly looking to the FAQ archives in the late hours trying to figure out a new puzzle, but I’m learning with each one.

In the early years (remember the white top 02’s?) it was the constant criticism from FAQ members that actually drove me to build better cars. The constant nitpicking about correct year for this part vs. that part, the focus of overspray on a trunk latch, etc., has actually been very constructive for me, it clued me into what buyers want, so now that’s what I try and build…

http://www.only02.com/Classic_ep_37-1.html

Yes, it sold for $32.1k, and the buyer is really excited about the car. His wife, who typically buys trinkets, did the bidding. Funny, I would have thought people would have been excited for me? Or at the very least happy that I’m helping increase the values of their investments. Instead, people actually emailed the winning bidder, telling them they got ripped off, and they made a huge mistake…