• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

123 distributor bug

dbower

I've been driving BMWs for 53 years and I thought I had experienced every kind of breakdown there was, but I just found a new one.  I've had a 123 distributor on my '72 2002 for about 5 years and 2,000 miles.  Today, in the midst of a 700-mile road trip, it cranked but would not fire.  Lifted the hood to find the distributor cap hanging loose by the wires.  Never had that happen but I popped it back on, snapped the clips and took off.  An hour later, same problem.  I reattached the cap and wrapped a zip tie around the distributor to hold the clips clipped.  That worked well enough to get me home.

The cap had gotten a little beat up in all the activity and the contacts were looking a little burned, so I called the US tech contact for 123 to ask about a replacement cap.  He explained that weak clips are a known problem on the 123.  He has pressed 123 corporate about it but they have not corrected the issue.  He recommended rebending the clips slightly whenever removing the cap to maintain their tension.  I got a new cap (not from 123 or BMW -- it is a Bosch VW cap #1235522056), bent the clips, and attached a zip tie around them as insurance.  We'll see.

Don

• Sad 1

There was a thread on this not long after the 123 came out.   But not much since.

Ray also documented that the little standoff bluebutt board is edge soldered, and can break off.

Many of them leak oil from lack of the standard scroll that Botch cut in the OE distributor.

I have been underimpressed with 123 construction and durability- that groused, the idea behind it is super clever.

t

• Like 1

"I learn best through painful, expensive experience, so I feel like I've gotten my money's worth." MattL