• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

HELP: Getting it going. Timing, Weber DCOE

MildSeven

I need your help…

Intro:

I’ve done a fair amount of searching on this site and google. I have found some info but it’s all never straight forward and I often find something to  contradict whatever I previously found. I’m trying to get my 2002 on the road before I need to store it for the winter (very soon in Montreal). Once I get this settled, I could take her for a test spin around the block, which I’m DYING to do J.

Background/Specs:

Warning, I’m an amateur.

My ‘02 came with a DCOE 45 setup, it ran “well” although I believe it was running rich. During my 2002 refresh project I removed the carbs, disassembled & cleaned them + put back together with all new gaskets. I noted down the specs. During that process the folks at redline recommend I put block off plates in place of the cold start mechanism, which I did.

29164657213_9ec09d1ab8.jpg

I set the brass float (no fuel in them) height to ~8.5mm & ~15mm. I re-opened them Thursday to double check this. Although I did read that one person on here said 8.5 & 12.5mm.

29707571541_85d9f995f4_n.jpg 29497704220_5c1348eb9d_n.jpg

The fuel pressure is regulator is regulated to 3.5/3.6psi, which I read should be fine for the setup. I do plan on lowering it to 3 though.

The 02 came with:  Crane XR700 ignition,  292 cam,  10:1 compression

I put new plugs: NGK BP5ES, gapped at 0.037” (same as previous gap)

28815376631_1bee4339b2_m.jpg

I bought a Synchrometer and an INNOVA Advanced timing light.

Situation/Questions.

-          I’m able to get the motor going with some effort and by fiddling with the distributor, following the redline “Initial setup”

o    Idle speed, ½ turn in after contact with lever

o    Idle Mixture screw 1 ½ turns out