• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Speaking of speakers...

02for2

Going to install a pair of JL Audio 6X9 3-way speakers to my '76 '02 to get rid of the lousy pioneer ones the PO mounted in the doors.

The options are Rear Parcel Shelf or the panel below the rear seat.

My questions are:

Is there a preferred location?

Which will be the easiest?

What's the best method of cutting the sheet metal necessary? Dremel, Hacksaw, Die Grinder? (no access to plasma cutter).

Any caveats or No-No's I need to be aware of?

TIA for any assistance provided...

Cheers!

1976 BMW 2002

1990 BMW 325is (newest addition)

1990 Porsche 964 C4 Cabriolet

If you think of anything easy let me know. My car has no cut out holes for spekers and since IM not very experienced/talented I'm thinking of just putting one on each side of the center console!

M20 Turbo 2002- Sold

1970 2002- Sold

1972 2002 Tii. - Sold

S50 e30- DD

If you think of anything easy let me know. My car has no cut out holes for spekers and since IM not very experienced/talented I'm thinking of just putting one on each side of the center console!

The problem with a center console mount is that there is no separation and the sound will be significantly MONO, hearing mostly one channel depending on which side of the console you're on.

With the parcel shelf, you can get about 4' of separation and with the underseat support about 5'.

I'm leaning toward under the seat, not likely to ever have the rear occupied, so little danger of the grills getting heel-kicked. Plus, it is a slightly more stealth location to deter thieves and vandals.

Cutting the holes isn't as much difficult as it is time consuming. Measure carefully - twice and take your time. The results will be a direct result of how carefully and patiently you do the job.