• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hello from TN!

Greetings all from a new member in Oak Ridge TN!

I’m new to the 2002 world, but not new to either classic cars or BMWs.  At one time or another I have owned a Lotus 7, and Steyr-Puch Pinzgauer 710, a series 3 Land Rover 88, a 1965 Mustang convertible, a 996 Porsche 911, a ‘75 VW bug, an M2CS, and too many motorcycles to count. 

My daily is an X3M Comp and while effective at what it does, it doesn’t fill my classic car void (obviously). 

I am interested in getting into a 2002 roundie, driver not show queen. I am a big fan of tinkering and upgrading, but my days of rust repair and painting are behind me.  My goal would be a handling-focused car to really enjoy our East Tennessee roads. 

Looking forward to learning more about these cars, whats popular, and whats possible. 

Edited by Transalpian
Forgetful
  • Like 3

Welcome to the forum.   No lack of tips, preferences, variations and recommendations regarding all years, versions, and modifications of these cars.  Use your browser’s search function to key word search any topic, and you’re likely to find more material than you can find time to review on any of the above.  If there were ever a good time in the last decade to score a decent deal on a decent ‘02 it’s probably right now.  

‘74 Fjord 2002tii (Zouave)

’80 Alpenweiss 528i (Evelyn)

’05 R53 Chili Red Mini S

‘56 Savage Model 99 in .250-3000

Yet another welcome to the fraternity/sorority...

And if you score an 02 in time, you're in easy striking distance of both Mid America 02 Fest in Arkansas (late April) and Vintage in Asheville (mid May).