• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

SOLVED - best process to identify electrical problem?

Devilish_02

Got home last night and turned off the car. Pushed knob in to turnoff headlights. Headlights turned off but dashboard light* stayed on. The light can dim until there is no light, but not an ideal solution. Guessing the issue is at the point where the electricity is cut off from the dashboard light. I phrase it that way because I have no experience working with electronic systems. 

My questions is, if you didn't have BMW2002faq, how would you go about identifying the problem?  Would also love the answer or suggestions, but want to learn how my car works and how to fix it while....you know.....fix it. 

Thanks in advance,

Jake 

* Bonus points if you head Meatloaf signing about dashboard lights while reading this post. 

Edited by Devilish_02

Everybody's wave breaks a little different

1 hour ago, Devilish_02 said:

how would you go about identifying the problem?

Welcome Jake.

First...get on this BMW2002faq forum!

Second: Tell us about your car (year, model, mods, etc.)

Third: Explain the best you can what issues you are having, when they started, what changed, etc.

Then stay connected to this forum until your problem(s) (relating to your 2002) are solved.

Lots of talent and help available!

John

A/B testing.

Change only one variable at a time to narrow down & identifying the problem. So try with known good light switch if it cures the problem.

Can you fix the light switch? Maybe, maybe not. Those are tricky little buggers.

Edited by tzei
Typo
  • Thanks 1

2002 -73 M2, 2002 -71 forced induction. bnr32 -91