• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Potential 1976 2002 Purchase - Potential First Time 02 Owner

sodunn15

Hi all, I'm looking into this '76 2002 that's being sold by a family friend. The current owner has been the only owner of the car since 1976 and has kept it in a garage for most of it's life. I can tell from the pictures he sent that there is definitely some odd things going on with this one but they are selling well below market price so it might be worth it. I'm pretty new to classic cars but always wanted to pickup a classic beemer and am tempted to take the dive if this car doesn't have too many red flags. They said they put in a new engine a few years ago and have only put 15k miles on it since the engine swap. On paper, sounds like it has some good things going for it so far.

It didn't look like there was any obvious rust issues as is but looked like they patched up some spots on the floor. It also looks like they painted the rear shock towers black which worries me they are trying to hide possible rust spots there too (but it's hard to tell from pics). It also looks like they moved the battery to the trunk for some reason - my hunch was they did this to make more room in engine compartment or to try and accommodate that speaker back there. The fact the battery is held in place with a bungie chord worries me but am hoping we can relocate back to engine compartment to be more secure. Also worried about the battery terminals being so close to strut brace (that doesn't look like it's bolted or welded in???).