• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Steering wheel hub adaptor, boss kit, turn signal cancel, indicator cancelling discussion

Jace

Dear FAQ,

I'd like to start a lasting discussion about boss kits, steering hub adaptors, indicator/turn signal cancelling, horn contacts and anything else to do with putting nicer looking steering wheels in our cars.

As you probably know, Nardi/Personal use a 6x74mm PCD, while Momo/Italvolanti/OMP and others use a 6x70mm PCD. For maximum adaptability, a lot of aftermarket hub's are drilled for both PCD's - which is great - but the vast majority of them suck in one way or another, lacking proper horn contacts, indicator cancelling tabs, or both.

12692163184_34fa0c47d3_z.jpg

I have been using a Nardi Classic 390mm for a few years on a Luisi boss kit (model 1502) which was working okay (just okay...) until I pulled it out to modify it and ruined it. This hub included a proper tab for cancelling the indicators, albeit too small a one, until i snapped it off.

I currently have two adaptors, one marked 1501, one marked 1502.

17143790301_99b8b17756_z.jpg

They differ slightly and in a rather annoying way

17143789991_3ce75687c8_z.jpg

17144430125_6d651ba2a7_z.jpg

(On the left is 1502, which used to have a horn tab, which I modified, then dropped and snapped off) :o:(

I wasn't happy with how much rotation I needed to cancel the indicators, so I was widening the tab to hit the cancelling tab earlier. 

11112958_10153178575616897_3173133678721

11149749_10153178575371897_9711539046497

So now I'm facing modifying one of the bosses to include some indicator cancelling posts, which need to be non-conductive or well insulated because of how close they are to the column so that the horn doesn't stay grounded.