• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

I'm new to SNOW COUNTRY, what is the best cheap winter tire?

robspeed

im tempted to put this in OT, since nobody should ever EVER drive their 02s in the snow, as we know, but im sure some of you have the winter car thing going on like i am about to (via my "new" e30). actually, my dad-in-law says i dont really need snow tires around here because the roads are kept pretty clear, but im slightly paranoid about it. e30s are famously happy about rotating the back end, hence my paranoia...

i was thinking of getting a set of bottle caps just for winter/snow tires, since the 30 will be wearing my fat ronals when i sell the 02. anyway id be looking for 195/65-14, maybe 185/65 (narrower is better in the slush yah?)

tia

Taller and narrower used to be the norm.

Tire technology has caught up these days.

My favorite snow tire on the planet:

http://www.nokiantires.com/

Hakkapeliitta... any of them...

Forget all the pretenders.

hmmm... so many choices! what one would be the best for normally-plowed slushy roads with the occasional caught-in-a-storm moments, also for long hauls to see Jenna and back on (i assume) plowed freeways...?

I have a set of bottlecaps from my E30, with Dunlop snows. Trade you all five wheels and skins, one-up for your three-digit Accord - oops, er, I mean, your 69.

Crap - I did it again - there I go pissing you off! Sorry, man - I know this thread doesn't concern me. But I just can't help myself - public forum, you know.

"That damn Otis - FAQ him, that Mutha FAQer! I wish he would just go about his business, and not post up, on matters that don't concern him. Insulting the whole FAQer board - that FAQer@!$@!" -- Robspeed

(Must . . . resist . . . temptation . . . to post . . . Dorothy pictures . . . .)