• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Sales Advice

Hi Enthusiasts,  I’m a Newbie and looking for some advice.  Was given this site by the fellow who went through our car about three years ago.  My wife and I bought a new 2002 while living in California in 1974.  Ten years later we transferred to Colorado where it was driven occasionally and then parked.  Total mileage is just over 43K miles.  It’s probably time to let the old girl go and would appreciate any advice on how to go about it.

Thanks in advance.

Take a lot of pictures, especially the problem areas, (rockers, frame rails, trunk, etc.).  Review like cars in the Classified section under cars for sale to get a feel for pricing.  Post your ad here to find it a good home.  If no bites, eBay, Craigslist, Offer-up, Facebook Marketplace, and BringATrailer will get more eyeballs on it.

Mark92131

• Like 1

1970 BMW 1600 (Nevada)

The best way is to get the car running, drive it for a bit, get it reliable-

and then discover you like it so much you don't want to sell it!

That's how I always do it...

... but a running, driving, sorted car is SOOOO much easier to sell than 'it ran a while back'.

t

• Like 3

"I learn best through painful, expensive experience, so I feel like I've gotten my money's worth." MattL

Thank you for responding!

Since rescued from the back of the garage, the fuel and braking systems been redone along with tuning and valve adjustment.  The original Michelin XAS tires have also been replaced.  The original rear muffler was replaced while we lived in California and the current needs replacement.  Windshield was also replaced in California.  I repainted the stock wheels.   Paint on horizontal surfaces shows it's almost 50 years old.  Interior is original.  This is a snapshot since resurrection.