• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Assembling a new Long Console kit

3rd02
Go to solution Solved by 3rd02,

About 10 years ago I purchased a "new" kit...from Rogerstii (I think) because the one in my '75 02 was sketchy. 

Anyway Im trying to assemble it now. I know Im no engineer, but, WTH? The bottom shelf does not cpme close to fitting into this thing.

Im getting an ABS front panel from KoogelWorks, but thats not going to help.

Suggestions?PXL_20231101_215300349.thumb.jpg.fc70a15c8721c07dd246c75dae5c46ba.jpg

PXL_20231101_220247466.jpg

PXL_20231101_220235028.jpg

Don’t the factory sides have a relief cut that allow them to bend in?  IIRC, it’s right about where your sides are parting ways with the bottom tray. 

There you can see the bend:

image.jpeg.e68d70d4f185335f6bdf77aee6a596c8.jpeg

And here’s the cut that allows the bend:

F8F603E1-8377-4B42-B134-868FC84E25A9.jpeg.928941bea3e23e4c727b2a6835198124.jpeg

I’m not exactly sure how it all comes together though. I had a frigi-king console (hideous), so I custom made my long console based on whatever photos I could find. 

IMOO, this is the most fckd up bit of interior-engineering Ive ever had to deal with on this car. 

If Im to believe that the above pic from Tech71 is correct, that metal piece doesnt actually fasten on the trans tunnel, it sorta floats, and just helps fasten the lower end of the side pieces together...along with the 4 tiny screws into particle board. wow.

I dont remember how much I paid for this console kit, but: no bend in side panels, no relief cuts (made my own, fingers crossed they dont snap/break) not pre-drilled holes, no instructions.

sigh.

at least you guys all try to help.  Anyone want to drive to Sacramento? lol

1 hour ago, 3rd02 said: