• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How to confirm transmission failure?

samsue2002

I am a newbie to cars so please excuse my ignorance and lack of proper car terms. I bought a 1976 BMW 2002 as a Daddy/Daughter project, then moved to college so Daddy isn't so close to help me with car problems anymore.

I was driving along the interstate when I heard a crashing/ grinding sound (coming from the direction of the transmission). It sounded like I ran over something or something inside my car was falling apart. I pulled over immediately and was able to restart the engine but it sounded a bit hollow. Dad advised me to get it towed back to my house in case it was an engine or transmission problem.

The gears have been grinding a bit and were slipping that day. I thought it had something to do with me not driving it all Thanksgiving break. Is there anything I can do to troubleshoot/ confirm it was the transmission or figure out what is wrong? Any advice or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks guys.

If you start the car in neutral then the gears part of the transmission is not active.

Is this when it makes the hollow sound?

So if its making noise it could be engine, clutch or input shaft of the transmission.

I would check the transmission fluid and see if its low. If it has not fluid then you could of damaged your trans.

You also mention the clutch slipping. So you would give it gas while in gear and the engine would rev but the car would be slow to move?

If so your clutch could of fallen apart in the bellhousing..- front part of trans.

If you push in the clutch does the sound change?

Its hard to diagnose without having the car on the lift to see if there is anything loose or leaking..

69 Baur 1600

71 Euro 02

75 02 w/ box flares

72 E3 73 E9

85 Baur 323 E30