• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

May get an S38!!! parting a built M10...

Burleigh

Well, Shupe and I are working on aquiring an '87 M5, of which the powerplant and drivetrain should surely find itself stuffed under the hood of the '69...

If this works out, I will likely be parting out the M10 that I have now. It is a fairly well built street motor. It has piano tops, ported head, 292 Shrick, Stahl headers, 45 webers, brand new timing chain and tensioner from Blunt, Pertronix in a no vacuum advance dizzy etc... It also has nice 5speed behind it with a bracket for mounting it in an 02.

If anyone is interested in these parts or anything else from the M10 please let me know. I am a little new to pricing some of these so fair offers would help.

Now on to the S38. What do you guys think on the swap and where would you start? I don't have the engine yet, so I haven't made any initial assessment of what I think on how to go about it, so any input would be great.

Thanks!

ClockWise MotorSports

'69 '02 Rat Rod O=00=O

'62 Chevy C10 w/SS 327

'63 Datsun 1200 pickup

'71 Datsun 510 Race Car

'70 Datsun Roadster

'78 Kawasaki KZ650 Street Cafe project

2010 Subby Forester (grocery getter)

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

IMHO its too heavy of motor for an '02. I'd think you'd end up with a better balanced car with an S14 or a turbo-charged M10.

Yeah I kind of agree, but the sight of that beast under the hood and the fact that it is available is what's turning me on to it... Plus, I think it will always have more power potential than either of those two!

ClockWise MotorSports

'69 '02 Rat Rod O=00=O

'62 Chevy C10 w/SS 327

'63 Datsun 1200 pickup

'71 Datsun 510 Race Car

'70 Datsun Roadster

What Justin said.