• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

overheating problem

hey to all i am new to classic cars i am 20 so this is my first 2002 , my 2002 is overheating from some time now, i remplaced almost all : the water pump , 320i radiator, new head gasket, refurbished head, bmw blue coolant with destilated water, radiator cap, new hoses, and a pusher fan and still when going up hill or in traffic it overheads, in the highway dont, y try to take out the bubles the best i could,  reving the engine will presing the top radiator hose , i dont have a termostat so it supose to be always cold, i dont have space for the oem fan with the new radiator , and i dont have heater any info is greatly greated 

• Like 1

If you don't have a heater, is the heater circuit blocked or bypassed? If it's bypassed then this can be a cause of overheating, as this "short circuits" the radiator, causing most of the water to just circulate thought the cylinder head and water pump and never get cooled.

Edited by dlacey

'59 Morris Minor, '67 Triumph TR4A, '68 Silver Shadow, '72 2002tii, '73 Jaguar E-Type,

'73 2002tii w/Alpina mods , '74 2002turbo, '85 Alfa Spider, '03 Lotus Elise

4 hours ago, alexander pastelblau said:

i dont have a termostat so it supose to be always cold

The thermostat not only controls the flow from the radiator, but i controls the recirculation warm up flow from the head outlet back to the pump suction.  I shuts off the recirculation warm up flow when the engine reaches operating temperature.  Need the thermostat too keep it cool!

A radiator shop is a good place to take a leak.

I have no idea what I'm doing but I know I'm really good at it.