• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Cool Lower Radiator Hose Driving Me Mad

foggy agave
Go to solution Solved by TobyB,

Hi everyone, I'm new to 2002 faq, but have read helpful postings often. Sorry for the long post, Thanks in advance for any help!

I'm worried that the cooling system on my 1971 2002 is not circulating correctly. Spent all weekend wrenching - scratching heads with my local independent garage - even had a phone convo with Thee Mike MIller ("go see Bill Arnold") - now it's toying with my mind!

I noticed a close to red temp gauge while driving a few days ago (normal temp is 1/4 above blue) I touched the lower radiator hose - it was cold - which I thought meant a bad thermostat - so I replaced it.

• Tested new thermostat in hot pan of water (btw - old one works too)

• Flushed the radiator with a hose top and bottom

• Forgot to set heat lever full on until after filling and running engine (me = idiot)

• Burped system by parking on steep street, running engine without cap

• Radiator is a new Silicone Garage 3 core less than 2 years old

• Water pump is less than two years old

• I just rebuilt the top end (those two years ago) so I know what's at stake!

Car drives at normal temp so far today (2 test drives of a several miles each in cool foggy coastal weather.) Big but...

• Lower hose is still cold, so is the bottom of the radiator!!!

• Thermostat, top hoses, top of radiator are hot

• Driving temp is normal - so far! - 1/4 inch above blue

This doesn't seem normal to me - cool lower hose - I seem to remember that all hoses are normally hot after a few minutes of driving. I'm planning to drive from SF to Monterey this weekend for Festorics - hence, the worry.

Do you think I'm dealing with trapped air that isn't allowing thermostat to function correctly?