• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

more 38/38 problems

boldtu

I took my 71' all stock but the Weber 38/38 carb with a cannon manifold. I took it over to 2002 ad and they adjusted it but it is still hesitating. I think it is the float adjustment but I have never done it before. Does anyone have a step by step an how to do it? with the gap on the floats?

thanks,

chet

Guest Anonymous
I took my 71' all stock but the Weber 38/38 carb with a cannon manifold. I took it over to 2002 ad and they adjusted it but it is still hesitating. I think it is the float adjustment but I have never done it before. Does anyone have a step by step an how to do it? with the gap on the floats?

thanks,chet

CD frequently posts pics of float drop and settings. If you can handle the 6 screws holding the top of the carb to the base and the e/c clip for the choke linkage, you ought to find it very easy to bend the float tangs with your fingers, needle nose pliers or even tweezers. It is possible that the floats have developed a leak making adjustment futile but the only realistic way to check is by removing the top and inspecting.

You mentioned using a cannon manifold but I am not aware of any significance. The cannons I have encountered have slightly smaller diameter runners than the stock BMW offerings. This should provide for better low speed operation.

...not so sure 'float level' is the cause for

your "hesimatations" but still important

to know what it is and it's adjusted correctly -

along with 2002 other adjustments like

dwell, point condition, distributor condition,

advance mech condition, timing setting,

compression, secondary ignition condition........

thanks and credit to the folks at Pierce Manifolds for this technical

page

FLOAT LEVEL - DGV / IDF / DCOE / DCNF / IDE-XE