• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

fitting piston rings and pistons into a block

chuncomunco

anyone have good suggestions on fitting piston rings and pistons into the block? i'm pretty new to engine rebuilding so if i need additional tools for this project please tell me.

pistons: maxsil +1.2mm E12 pistons

piston rings: hastings (not sure if they were pre-gapped)

purchased from: bavauto.com

(2760940) 1972 2002Tii Agave, Supersprint Headers, IE SS Exhaust, BMP SSK, Crane XR3000 w/ MSD Blaster, IE 284 cams, JB Racing Aluminum Flywheel, Seral 13x6

Hi buddy.

Building a motor is always a nice project.

My first suggestion would be to start by buying at least the Haynes book on 2002s. Read it as bedtime litterature. It is $15 only. Then, after reading it, if you have questions, I am sure everyone will want to give you a hand.

Massivescript_specs.jpg

Brake harder. Go faster.

the block has already been bored, honed and squared. so i'm planning on fitting them on this weekend and the books i have are pretty vague. lol.

(2760940) 1972 2002Tii Agave, Supersprint Headers, IE SS Exhaust, BMP SSK, Crane XR3000 w/ MSD Blaster, IE 284 cams, JB Racing Aluminum Flywheel, Seral 13x6

You need a piston ring compressor (Not to insult your intelligence). There should be a sheet included with the piston rings demonstrating the proper orientation of the ring gaps as well as which side is "UP" for the top and second rings. Usually compression rings are marked by a tiny little "dot" indentation for the side facing up. But this can vary depending on manufacturer. If you've got a decent repair manual it should illustrate the actual piston installation process pretty thoroughly.

Budweiser...It's not just for breakfast anymore.

Avatar photo courtesy K. Kreeger, my2002tii.com ©