• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Excessive Oil Consumption! 1972 BMW 2002

GraysonHaugen

Burning 1 QT. Oil for 250 MI.

I am pretty sure I am going to need to re-hone my Cylinders and get a larger pistons.

Valve Guid Seals also probably need to get replaced as well. Might as well. Right?

Unfortunately I am pretty new at this and I don't have many contacts for mechanics that specialize in these cars. Also, Sense I have never done anything like this, I have no idea what this will cost me (Or what it realistically SHOULD cost me.)

I am Located in Portland, Oregon. And I know there are a lot of 02 shops around here.

Are there any preferred/dependable/good work/cheaper labor (I know, I know, I am dreaming here.) Shops around here?

Please let me know!

post-18635-13667667457244_thumb.png

post-18635-13667667461923_thumb.png

1972 BMW 2002 Currently driving.

3 BMW 2002's have been owned already.

I am happy with this one.

Any idea on the mileage of the engine? How long have you had the car, and what kind of mileage has it seen in the past few years? Cars that have been sitting or rarely driven for long periods of time sometimes exhibit low compression or high oil consumption and need to be driven for a good trip (500-1000 miles) to literally re-break them in. But a quart in 250 miles is a lot without any leakage.

It is probably valve stem seals, and maybe the rings if the mileage is high. You will need to have a shop do a compression and leakdown test first to determine what needs to be done.

There are others on this board who will surely chime in with recommendations on costs and shops in the Portland area, as I am near Chicago.

Car looks good in the pics, though I've a weakness for bright colors.

vince

oil consumption limit = 1 liter per 1000 Km