• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

fuel cell with stock gauge?

323IJOE

is this possible to do, from what i have gathered in the past couple hours it doesn't look good for me. most cells i find have senders 0-90ohms and from what i found our gauges are 0-75ohms. is there anyway to make them work with each other? I would honestly rather just buy a fuel cell than refurbing my old tank.

is this possible to do, from what i have gathered in the past couple hours it doesn't look good for me. most cells i find have senders 0-90ohms and from what i found our gauges are 0-75ohms. is there anyway to make them work with each other? I would honestly rather just buy a fuel cell than refurbing my old tank.

I guess using a resistor on the line? I'm no electrics expert but sounds like that should work shouldn't it?

I'm no longer affiliated with Maximillian Importing Company in any way, please address any questions directly to them.  -Thanks.

2002 "tii" coupe 1970
E21 320/6 2.7 Stroker 1981
E23 730 1978

The stock sender is actually 3-75 ohm, but the 3 ohm can be replicated with an in-line resistor pretty easily.

As for the top end, if you just hooked it up as is the gauge would read empty when the tank was still 1/6th full. If that doesn't bother you to much you could just hook up the 3 ohm resistor and call it a day.

If you want it to be more accurate, then a bit more work is needed. I'm going to be running a 20 gallon fuel cell, so I'm planning to make a 'black box' to be hooked up to the system in line between the sender and the gauge that will successfully convert the 0-90 ohm signal to 3-75 ohm. I just haven't sat down and worked out the specific values yet. My thought process for doing so is as follows, if anyone has any input please feel free speak up.