• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Brake Rotors etc.

lobf

Hello. I changed my brake pads a little too late a couple of weeks ago and the rotors were all scratched up. I want to remove the rotors and take them to my mechanic to be machined. A few questions- Can I take off my rotors? How do I do that? Where should I put the jack stands to support my wheel-less car while I'm gone? I'm still learning my way around my first car here, so thanks for your help and support.

P.S- It's a '76

unfortunately, removing the rotors on a 2002 isn't nearly as easy as most cars. you're gonna have to unbolt the caliper, remove the big hub nut, pop the hub out along with outer wheel bearing, use a huge allen wrench to take the rotor off the hub, etc. just going off memory so don't quote me on that. but it'd be best if you bought a Haynes manual to guide you.

then when you get it back (might be nearly as cheap to just get new rotors instead), you'll have to re-pack the outer wheel bearing and adjust it properly.

in most other cars..... often all you need is a big hammer to knock the rotor off...

Bring a Welder

1974 2002, 1965 Datsun L320 truck, 1981 Yamaha XS400, 1983 Yamaha RX50, 1992 Miata Miata drivetrain waiting on a Locost frame, 1999 Toyota Land Cruiser

oh, and the best place to place the jackstands is probably underneath each end of the big horizontal subframe member that goes under the engine.

the factory jacking point is a reinforced notch just in front of your door on the rocker panel... but those points aren't that trustworthy anymore.

Bring a Welder

1974 2002, 1965 Datsun L320 truck, 1981 Yamaha XS400, 1983 Yamaha RX50, 1992 Miata Miata drivetrain waiting on a Locost frame, 1999 Toyota Land Cruiser

.....AND :

Can I take off my rotors? = YES