• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Manny's 02 Restoration Project

manny02

Hi everyone, my name's Manny and I just bought a 75 02. This is my first restoration project.

I've been looking for one for a while and came across this one that was garaged its whole life. The car wasn't started for 20 years, so the PO brought it to his mechanic and had all the fluids flushed and hoses changed.

I'm looking to restore this car to its original look while adding a few personal touches  ;)

Since I'm a newbie with these cars, I just had a few questions:

1) I want to have the car repainted in the original Inka color because there are a few blemishes in the paint and I was wondering how much, roughly, would I be looking at spending based on how much other members have spent?

2) What's the best/most cost-efficient way to restore the interior? PO had rear seats changed with E21 seats, and the fronts I believe are still original. Would it be better to buy a kit and new padding or bring it to an upholstery shop that quoted me $1500?

All help is greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone!

Here are a few pictures, btw:

8953496221_41521a3558_c.jpg
DSC_0255 by fbaladad, on Flickr
8953485245_96547d3ca7_c.jpg
DSC_0332 by fbaladad, on Flickr

8953472687_d8c8626f8e_c.jpg

DSC_0394 by fbaladad, on Flickr

Is that original paint?  If so, I sure wouldn't repaint it--at least in the pictures it looks pristine.  Those little blemishes add patina--and after all, it's survived 38 years and still looks very nice.  You'll spend many $$$ for a truly proper repaint, and it won't look that much better than what you have--and you can't ever replace "original."

BTW, welcome to the fraternity/sorority...

mike

'69 Nevada sunroof-Wolfgang-bought new
'73 Sahara sunroof-Ludwig-since '78