• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Slight backfire after key is turned off.... why?

Tangmere

Ok, fellow 02'ers. I am stumped here on the basics of tune ups with this. I am new to the 02 world, and am just not getting it. Here is the setup. a 75, stock other than a brand new 32/36 water choke Weber. The air fuel is set at 2 and 1/4 turns out. Timing seems to be a mystery, as from what i have read, all of them are different, so there is no real degree that works for everyone? So i set it a a good sound, no rough idle at about 950 rpm. It is not advanced to the point of no power at higher rpm, UNTIL about 4000 rpm. So my issue is i have a weak spot, not really a dead spot at about 4000rpm, or about 70ish mph. I have fiddled with timing and air fuel for about a month now and just cant seem to get it right. Should i set the timing at revving the motor to about 3500 rpm, to make sure the distributor is fully advanced, then set to smooth running? Why does it slightly backfire after i shut the motor off? Oh, and i just re adjusted the valves to make sure i didn't have any issues there. I am guessing the timing is still off, for the back fire, but why after the ignition is off does it backfire? Too rich and fuel left over out of the exhaust igniting in the exhaust manifold?

Thanks in advance for your responses, this is probably a simple issue, and i am just too much of a noob with these to get it....

Guest Anonymous

do you still have points? When I did, the adjustment of them made the difference on backfiring - don't remember which way, but a little off and the car backfired. Higher octane gas might help too.