• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Help on purchasing a 2002

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Hi!

I am new to the 2002 world, and am currently looking at a car for sale in New Mexico. The car I am considering is a 1971 and it had its motor rebuilt about 10k miles ago. I am hoping to turn this car in to a road racing car, but I will need to use it for a daily driver for at least 6 months.

So my questions are:

1- Is $2,000 a fair price for a car like this? There is a tiny bit of rust in the rear wheel wells, and the clutch has to be replaced before the car is driveable. I have seen prices all over the board so I am very lost on what it should really go for.

2- Since I am hoping to race what clutch would be recommended? I have searched and I see that there are many people who put race clutches, but I have not been able to pin down brand names or prices for these parts.

Any other recommendations you may have when looking at this car would be great as well.

Thank you,

Rachelle

send some pictures and a link to the car if possible so we can get a better idea that way.

look at rust in the shock towers, open the trunk, wheel wells , rocker panels rust is your main enemy .

keep in mind if the car need some things now usually means other things will go out later. don't expect to buy 1 car and have a daily driver without any problems, make sure to go through it checking brakes ,radiator, gaskets etc. also as a suggestion if you think the clutch is going out check your master and slave clutch cylinders if those go out your your clutch will feel bad.