• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Optimised 2002 Ti exhaust manifold

Dear all,

Having purchased a 1970 2002 Ti restoration project in Malaga red yesterday, I'm relatively new to the 'world of 02'.

I'm reading up on finding the right balance between originality and 'optimisation' for the restoration.

One of the things I'm wondering, is what an 'optimised M10 exhaust manifold' could be.

I'm looking to slightly improve the engine with a bit higher compression (e.g. forged pistons and conrods), some cam-tweaks (e.g. 292 cam) and perhaps a set of 40 or 45 Webers (looking more for low-end torque than high-end horsepower).

The other thing I'm considering is what the right exhaust manifold for this set-up could be - at least something with equal length pipes.

However, one of the things that keeps puzzling me is that all the M10 / 121 exhaust manifolds I've seen feature round ports. Whereas as the 121ti head has more somewhat rounded-square / oval exhaust valves. So such a 'step change' in exhaust diameter and shape, looks to me not to have 'optimal exhaust gas flow'.

See e.g. this (borrowed) photo:

IMG_0660.JPG.676ecc84909214db8768459a06d

As I'm sure this topic has already been engineered on many times before, by much smarter and more experienced minds than mine, I'm wondering what the experiences on this are - what exhaust manifold to consider for 'optimal exhaust gas flow'?

As a closing photo - my project car:

IMG_9513.JPG

Edited by quant

BMW 2002ti (March 1970, Malaga)