• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

2002 m30 engine swap help!!

ii1220

Hi everyone I searched around I found a couple this about the m30 in the 2002 but I have some questions I need answred before I go out to buy parts does the m30 Trans bolt up to the 2002 body with no fabs? Also what parts do I need for this build? Could someone please make me a list this is my first build and need as much info as possible im on a budget of 2500. if there is a conversion kit or a place that has a list of what parts to buy or what I need to fab that would be cool just let me know.

Thank,

Cheers

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

M30 swap is not an easy task - not recommended for your first project. Big six doesn't fit easily and the gearbox doesn't fit without major modifications to tranny tunnel. And the engine is way much heavier than M10.

Tommy

Racing is Life - everything before and after is just waiting!

Gut then front nose, cut out the trans tunnel and make a new, larger one. Then make custom engine and transmission mount. Shorten the driveshaft. Install a larger radiator. If using fuel injection there will be a lot of new wiring.

etc etc.

Do a search for M20 swaps. Then add a hundred pounds and some more sheet metal work.

Tinker Engineering - 2014

Mica - 2000 BMW 323i - The one that started it all

Fiona - 1975 BMW 2002 - The Definition of Project Creep

Heidi - 1988 BMW M5 - The piece of BMW history

Silvia - 2013 Subaru WRX - Stock, for now