• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How to identify a reground cam?

kubes

I am trying to see if the cam in a car I just bought is a regrind. The po provided paper work that a Karzundpartz K3004 reground cam shaft was purchased and installed. I believe what is in there is a BMW stock cam (or was at one time), there is a "2" stamped on the end and the number on the casing is 12106100802. I did not see another markings. Which would make sense if it was reground, correct?

Is there a quick and easy means to tell if it was reground, before I pull it out and send it to be checked?

Does anyone have any info, spec or comments on a Karzundpatrz cam K3004 cam?

Thanks

I'm no expert on cams, if you had a stock cam to compare, couldn't you just measure the base circle diameter with calipers while the cam is in the head & compare to a known stock cam ? Or do some regrinds build up surface by welding on more material ?

2002 owner since 1980

stuck Kuchen

Look at the heal of the cam(round part)if it is mostly even /not raised above the shaft it is a re grind K300 . There is one in my tii Touring I put it there in the late 70's

I am trying to see if the cam in a car I just bought is a regrind. The po provided paper work that a Karzundpartz K3004 reground cam shaft was purchased and installed. I believe what is in there is a BMW stock cam (or was at one time), there is a "2" stamped on the end and the number on the casing is 12106100802. I did not see another markings. Which would make sense if it was reground, correct?

Is there a quick and easy means to tell if it was reground, before I pull it out and send it to be checked?

Does anyone have any info, spec or comments on a Karzundpatrz cam K3004 cam?

Thanks