• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Turning cam with head off?

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

I just got my head back from the machine shop after $800 of work and I need to set the valve lash now. How do I turn the cam with the head off??? I can't turn the gear by hand, I tried threading 2 long 10mm bolts into 2 cam gear bolt holes and turning it with a bar between the two, but I just bent a bolt.

I'm new to BMWs, I've always worked on h2o VWs, and I'm totally amazed at how hard it is to turn the damn camshaft in the head!!

Any ideas? I want to get the head at #1 TDC before I throw it on the block so I can have everything roughly lined up.

Kevin Fry

71 2002

71 project 2002

81 Scirocco turbo, 83 Rabbit GTI

Guest Anonymous

well i just had exactly the same problem and had no real difficulty turning the cam with two bolts and a screw driver between them... used the actual cam sprocket bolts so they werent particularly long...

by the way i think those have a 10mm head on a 6mm thread.. keep trying.. also, maybe make sure you are turning in the direction of operation (ie. clockwise)

cheers

ozgeorge

Guest Anonymous

First, be careful not to let the assembled head sit flat on its bottom surface, as there will be at least one valve head protruding below. Find some wood pieces to prop it up, or turn it on its side to prevent bending a valve.

You should set all the eccentrics to provide max valve lash before attempting to turn the cam again. If the lash is too tight anywhere, it could help bind things up depending on the cam lift, spring type & their installed height. At least, you want to insure there is no excess valve spring tension inhibiting the rotation. On the rockers that are not currently depressing a valve, can you confirm they are free on the shaft?