• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

FIXED !!! Tii starting problem - need help

BMWonly

Hi guys,

I bought a 73 tii in December. Had 2002's before, but I am pretty new to the tii world.

The car starts good when it's cold and when it's hot. But if I leave it for anywhere between 1 and 2 hours it's almost impossible to start (less than 1 hour and more than 2 hours is no problem).

I have to crank it very long, usually about 3 times for 10 sec. If I floor the gas the last time, it usually comes, but it almost sounds like it's backfiring for a few seconds, rpm's come up very slowly.

I have done a full tune-up: new plugs, wires, rotor, cap, Pertronix, valve adjustment, timing is correct (ball in the hole @ 2,500 rpm). Battery is new, starter a little older rebuilt Bosch. PO said he had the injection pump rebuilt within the last 3 years. The plugs are almost white, so I might run a little lean. But the car idles perfect and runs very good (once it is running), gas mileage between 22 and 26 mpg.

Any suggestions???

Thanks

Dieter

Current:

- 1970 Colorado 2002, 1982 323i, 1972 Porsche 914, 1956 Porsche 356A Coupe replica, 2003 Mini Cooper S

Past:

- 1980 320is Turbo, 1972 Malaga 2002tii, 1973 Polaris 2002tii, 1973 Sahara 2002, 1981 Alpina C1 2.3, 1989 M3, 1984 Hardy & Beck 327S

Check the tii register site for proper starting procedures.

You may be flooding the car if you are cranking it 3 separate times in short duration -- the cold start valve with admit gas each time you turn the key.

GL,

Ray

Ray

Stop reading this! Don't you have anything better to do?? :P
Two running things. Two broken things.