Sign in to follow this  
-=Charley

How the h#ll do you sharpen drill bits?

8 posts / 1101 viewsLast Reply

Drill Doctor?? Mine are starting to turn into steel dowels.. just wondering if there's any tried and true methods out there or experience with the beloved Drill Dr.

I've been collecting dull drills for the last 20 years, when I have enough to justify equipment to sharpen them, I will get something like the drill doctor.

I believe all you need is a grinder to remove the dull metal. The angle is critical, and the the grinding should be equal on both sides. Looking at a bit, the flutes spiral, so the grinding has to be be "clocked" to maintain the same size tip (not sure if it is important).

I will bet that one can make some sort of a jig to accomplish the same thing as the drill doctor, ie if you have a bench grinder. I am picturing a 2x4 with a hole in it and a set screw kept with a c clamp. How people did it before the drill doctor?? If you were an apprentice machinist in Germany, they would only give you a hand file!

A Drill Doctor is relatively cheap. I purchased one from Lowe's for my woodworker dad a few years back and he loves it. They come in two different sizes depending on the bits you typically use.

I actually tried the hand file technique out of frustration and laziness.. didn't work for me. I'm not enough german!

I'm going to make an appointment with this Dr. Drill and report back.

How people did it before the drill doctor?? If you were an apprentice machinist in Germany, they would only give you a hand file!

if you have a drill that can be 'dressed' with a mere hand file, then you are in trouble. you'll need a sharpening stone to work the high speed steel of most drill bits.

i once watched a seasoned machinist sharpen a worn out bit for me by hand on a grinding wheel, no jigs or anything, complete with recessed fluting at the tip. he nailed it perfectly and was the sharpest bit i had at the time.