• Upcoming Events

bgv4

Weber 32/36 Idle speed screw won't touch linkage...

10 posts in this topic Last Reply

I just came in from trying to figure out why the weber 32/36 (electric choke) that i just installed is idling at around 2500 rpms. I am following the best lean idle guide from redline, and when i got to the idle speed screw adjustment, i realized that even when the screw was bottomed out, it does not touch the linkage.

Before everyone jumps on me, I am waiting for my haynes weber manual to come in the mail and have searched the archives... but i am very new at working with cars, but trying hard to learn without bugging everyone for answers :).

Other Info: It does not seem that the accelerator pedal linkage, has anything to do with this, i disconnected this linkage with the same results. Engine is completely stock and timing has recently been set correctly by a mechanic who knows what they are doing (obviously not me) and the car was running fine when the stock solex was on earlier today (with the exception of cold start issues).

Thanks in advance for your replies!

Guest Anonymous

a pic would be helpful.

Trace the choke linkage- it can pull the idle up if it thinks it's

cold- or is seriously misadjusted...

hth,

t

perhaps i'm not quite understanding what you are asking, and i can't quite remember, but i think if the carb is choked, the idle speed screw will not engage, or touch the throttle arm (or whatever it's called) as the choke is set to fast idle. as it warms up and you kick the gas pedal to disengage the choke, it will reset the carb to non-choke condition, and the arm will settle against that screw. chuck