• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Road Trip California to Montreal - tips for newbie

davecap

Hey, just thought I'd post my plans for my upcoming road trip across the USA.

Here is the tentative map: http://tinyurl.com/cvp5pp

We plan on leaving on May 18th. Any suggestions on routes?

My car is a '74 Tii, and I drove it down from Montreal this past September without any problems! I'm a newbie when it comes to mechanic stuff so even if something went wrong we would probably be screwed (got my AAA though). I've been looking at some of the posts for spare parts to take, but I have no idea what to do with most of the stuff listed anyways :)

I've been fixing up some stuff with JP at A1 Imports in San Rafael and he's been awesome. I had to get a new alternator, new wiper blades, seat belt, battery. I'm going to replace my throttle linkage and probably the tires since they are getting pretty worn out. I might also replace the gearbox (its a 4 speed) with a newer (used but rebuilt) 4 speed...

Any suggestions on what I might want to bring just in case I have to tow to a mechanic along the way? fan belt? alt. belt? spark plugs? coolant?

So far I've got some of the basics:

- jumper cables + battery pack

- oil

- fuses

- blanket, flashlight, first-aid

Thanks for the tips!

post-15570-13667605632782_thumb.jpg

The fan belt and the alt. belt are one-in-the-same. Yes, take a spare one with you. Also, points, rotor, distributor cap. Even if you don't know how to install them, a mechanic along the way should. Basic tools could also come in handy. I assume you'll have cell phone, and a laptop could get you connected to this board for advise. Good luck, you and your car should do just fine.

Bob Napier