• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

what's the avantage of using a longer con rod to a M10

Armond

I have no experience on this subject at all but heard that you can replace the stock M10 connecting rod to a 5 series rod which is longer and will supposedly get better performance. The crank will remain stock. What are the benefits to go this route. TIA

73 Tii A4 BOD Oct. 13,1972

74 Tii BOD Nov. 16,1973

FAQ Member 1683

If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.

Mario Andretti

There are a few good reasons for longer rods.

One the load is reduced on the skirt of the piston as the wrist pin is higher in the piston. Makes the piston lighter as the pin boss can now be shorter.

Second and more importantly the dwell time at top dead center is reduced (in minutes and seconds not usually even a whole degree) and this improves intake air flow a slight amount and cuts down reversion a slight amount.

These changes effect the torque curve of an engine and can influence the durability in high speed operation.

This subject is covered in detail in Bill Jenkins 70's era book on the small block Chevrolet. Required reading for anyone wanting to learn about modifying any type engine.

Armond,

Remember that simply changing the con rod to a longer version is just the beginning. The piston will need to have a shorter distance from the wrist pin to the top surface. Otherwise you will only make 1/4 of a turn on the crank before noticing a slight interference when the piston contacts a valve or the head. While aa/fd has an excellent point regarding dwell time this is a performance upgrade that needs thorough examination.

What else do you have in mind?

Todd

"Common sense isn't common"

There are a few good reasons for longer rods.