• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Speedo reads fast... Tried a few things...

Greetings, All,

I have a '73 2002. I have little knowledge of the car's history, unfortunately. I know there are modifications, given the tii distributor and other "little" things here and there.

The speedo consistently reads faster than the car is traveling. I've covered a few of what I'd think would be the "usual" suspects, but I can't get it to read correctly.

Thinking the car may have been fitted with a later differential, I threw the speedo from my correctly-reading '76 in there. It read similarly (if not identically) fast. For giggles (and to check a balance issue) I threw the four wheels/tires from the same '76 onto the car (they're 13's vs. the 14's I have on the '73). No change in the speedo output.

The speedometer is rock steady without any wobble. There must be something funky in gearing somewhere, but I'm unsure of how to check. The differential is a long nose (I think... It's identical to the '76's, both driveshafts are identical length with different transmission splines).

I'm obviously overlooking something, and it's probably painfully obvious. Would anybody care to berate me and point out the answer that's right in front of my nose?

Thanks!

~Rob

'73 2002 Warmbold Rally Car Imitator

'89 325i Time Capsule

When I changed the diff in my car from the stock 3.64 to a 3.91 LSD, my speedo read 10% faster than I was going (so - when it read 55, I was really going 50). My guess is that someone has done a diff swap, and your speedo needs to be re calibrated. I sent mine to PA Speedo just for this.

FAQ Member # 2616

"What do you mean NEXT project?"

-- My wife.

before you get all wacky changing and pulling

more things apart - confirm exactly what your speed is