autobon7

Hello (nt)

11 posts / 1734 viewsLast Reply

My name is Morgan and I'm a 42 year old total newb to the 2002. I have a 70 automatic that I'm really excited about. Don't have much experience past basic tune up stuff but am willing to learn which brings me here. Today I pulled front and back seats as they are shot. I think it must have been a squirrel/mouse hotel at one point, the smell is awful. Also need to address weak brakes. Can't get it to lock up in gravel=bad. Just had a shop go through the trans a couple weeks ago and noticed a nice puddle of fluid on the floor today, damn it. Just feeling overwelmed at the moment and looking for a little encouragement. By the way my car is basically in need of everything as it's dried up, frozen, rusted, stuck, stinks, broken, & cracked. (and my wallet contains dust bunnys). Sorry for the long winded intro.......great site. BTW, anyone close to St Louis, MO?

Sounds like the right place to start on a 2002! Have fun and good luck on your new (old) project. And don't worry, you're wallet will never fill with anything again except more dust bunnies.

-Merek

Well good luck! This board is certainly a good place to start.

I'd say, before you pull it out of the driveway again, do a proper brake system flush as the brakes on your 02 are supposed to be MUCH better than that and most of us preach safety first!

Matthew

Would be interested in knowing the VIN on your car. There were very few automatics built in 1970; in fact I dont' think I've run across one before.

As for your mouse motel back seats. If you're gonna reuse the horsehair padding, suggest you take the seats out of the car, set 'em out in the sun with the padding side up and spray with Fabreze. I had the same problem with an otherwise serviceable back seat from a parts car and a couple of days of sun/Fabreze treatment did the trick.