Sign in to follow this  
Dugz02

Crank pulley: looking for access

9 posts / 999 viewsLast Reply

OK... this is half rant and half question.

I am trying to turn the crank so I can set the valves, but I can't find a way to get to the crank pulley. (Yes, I'm old school - doing it with big tools and strong arms - because that's how I've been doing it for 30 years.)

If I go at it from the top, I'm either looking at the alternator or the radiator hoses, with no room to get around any of those things. If I pick up the car enough to slide under the ground effects, I'm looking at the air conditioning compressor... but turning it from underneath is pointless because I can't test for TDC while I'm laying on my back, so I'm back to looking at the top and scratching my head.

Heck, I haven't even found the timing marks, yet. I simply can't see in there.

I'm sure somebody knows a way around this problem, but I haven't found it.

Any tips or techniques would be appreciated.

put the car in fourth gear ( hopefully its a standard shift ) and roll the car to where you need the valves. Timing marks are on the flywheel on top of the bell housing you'll see a hole

When I did mine I just pulled on the belt and it moved it over. Or you can bump it with the key and then fine tune move it by the belt. Then go buy a bump starter. Works great.

put the car in fourth gear ( hopefully its a standard shift ) and roll the car to where you need the valves. Timing marks are on the flywheel on top of the bell housing you'll see a hole

OK... you get the "Brute-Force Mechanic" award... and I mean that in a nice way.

When I did mine I just pulled on the belt and it moved it over. Or you can bump it with the key and then fine tune move it by the belt. Then go buy a bump starter. Works great.

The belts aren't turning it. I'll buy a bump starter. Until then, I'll push the car.

Thanks for the fast responses.