• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

looking for a test ride near Boston (2002 virgin)

///tonic

I've been checking out this forum near-daily for a couple of months now, ever since i realized that the 2002 is my dream car (specifically, a turbo M20-powered 2002 is my dream car).

So I've begun my search for the car of my dreams. I'm hoping to find one that's in need of restoration (so I won't feel bad changing color and swapping motors), but without too much rust, and ideally daily-drivable so I can enjoy it while I save up the money for the resto and the motor (it won't be primary transportation though).

Problem is, I've never even ridden in a 2002. I'm hoping some kind Boston area 2002 owner(s?) will let me have a look at their cars or even a ride, so I can get a better feel for the car, find out what exactly to look for when I buy, and get myself even more psyched for the project.

You can drive my race car back and forth in my driveway. HeHe. Maybe Winston TJ can take you for a ride. His car is a rusty POS, but it still drives well. Finding a clean car around here is going to be really tough. You would be better to bring one in from Cali on a truck. There is always something going on around here on the weekends. You are welcome to come by and grab a wrench. This weekends agenda includes further build up of a roll cage in a beetle, cleaning up the emision controls on a Triumph TR8, and build up of a new front subframe for the 2002. I am in Carver about a mile from Edaville and King Richards Fair.

ooh, turning a wrench or two is always a welcome opportunity. I've got to put new brakes on the 325 and the M3 first, but after that I'll definitely take you up on your offer.

Maine's a bit farther for me, but I just might swing up sometime.

Thanks both for the offers.