munchytii

Broken Starter, is there an upgraded version ??

19 posts / 2399 viewsLast Reply

Good thing I was home when my 02 decided not to turnover. The old starter has served me well for 15yrs, I can't complain. With all the 02 upgrades out there, do we have one for a better, stronger starter???

Yes there absolutely is. The best starter for the money is the one off of a 80-83 320i. Its smaller, lighter and cranks the car with authoritah. The m3 starter is basically the same unit but costs way more (last time I checked). I have been running the 320i setup for about three years now with no problems.

Guest Anonymous

Bosch has decided to dropp the 02 starter from its line up. This is a good thing as they are selling the M3 starter for the 02 price. another advantage is these are new units and not rebuilt, you do have to order the highline bosch units to get the M3 one. The m3 unit is more powerfull so it helps with starting. The past few we have gotten at the shop have been the M3 units in the 2002 box.

Sam

Yes there absolutely is. The best starter for the money is the one off of a 80-83 320i. Its smaller, lighter and cranks the car with authoritah. The m3 starter is basically the same unit but costs way more (last time I checked). I have been running the 320i setup for about three years now with no problems.

The e30 m3 and the e21 starter are not the same. The e21 starter(320I)is basically the same unit as the '02. The e30 m3 starter is a gear reduction type and is quiet a bit smaller and lighter by 8 lbs. And yes, the e30 m3 starter will crank the motor like there's no tomorrow!

Cris

Guest Anonymous