johnhup

MegaSquirted ITB's continued - possible vacuum leaks (long)

23 posts / 2401 viewsLast Reply

Alright well to follow up on my last post, I have gotten the MAPDaddy properly configured on my MS is reading it right. About 101 at sea level and fog, and when I suck on the hose to complete vacuum I get around 40 kPa. This definitely puts me on the right track.

Now, I rechecked all my hoses and retightened all my intake and throttle body bolts but I still am only getting about 90 kPa at idle (that is right before the motor dies). Now I tried shifting my table to account for it in a crazy fashion, making the kPa start at 90 at the bottom and 100 on top but that didnt help because my reading was somewhat erratic. The motor still seems to surge.

Now I tried setting up Alpha-N but that doesnt seem to work either. Granted I am really new to this but I am pretty sure I grasp the theory. Should I at least get the motor to stay alive?

This is leading me to think I am having other issues but nothing else has changed. Distributor is at the same marks I left it, all plug wire are in place. I am getting sparks obviously which leads me to believe all that is still in order.

Could I be having leaks in between my intake manifold and ITB's? I only have rubber o-rings that sit in a groove between them. They look like they are being over tightened. I am thinking of removing them and adding paper gaskets like on the head.

If I had a good seal shouldnt I get a low MAP reading right around idle? Maybe in the 40 kPa or less range? My cam isnt that aggressive so valve overlap isnt an issue. Even if my injection timing was off, wouldnt I still be seeing low kPa values?

Maybe I am getting bad or erratic values from the tach, but it does seem to match the sounds that I am hearing pretty well. I am almost totally out of ideas. I am about to take it all apart, put it back together, try and if that doesnt work call up JP at A1 imports.

EDIT: Added photos