JR

Urethane squeak

14 posts / 889 viewsLast Reply

To call the noise coming from my Bav Auto urethane bushings a squeak is being kind. Its about 3 octaves beyond obnoxious. Where did I go wrong? Used all of the lube provided on the od and id of the poly bushings and metal inserts. Instructions did not indicate greasing the ends. Will brake caliper lube work? droppimg the rear subframe again. what a [email protected]#$#@er

Good luck, sheesh, thats rough...

By the way, ocatves describe how high the squeak is in pitch...

It is probably many more "decibels" of a normal squeak which would describe the amount of volume of the squeak....

lol, Im a music producer...

Good Luck!, Lance

As I am about to go down a similar path with Ireland Engineerring's urethane bushing kits, I would also like to know what kind of lube is best for this application.

Apart from silicone brake lube, and some of the dielectric greases intended for use on spark plugs and ignition wires I don't know of any silicone grease that would be suitable.

Any suggestions, or are they essentially all the same??

Edit: BTW, searching Ebay for "silicone lube" may yield unexpected results!

Edit 2: I did find an interesting silicone based lube available through Volvo that apparently contains PTFE... looks like it might be an option.

i just got mine from bavauto today and there wasn't any type of lubricant or instructions included

i knew i shouldn't have bought urethane bushings

what's the cure

Guest Anonymous

A local alignment and modification shop tipped me off about this - They use motorcycle chain lube in a spray can to stop the squeaks. It pemetrates well, te carrier evaporates and the synthetic lube stays in to quite things down. I have tried it several times and it has never failed to work for me.