• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Rear suspension refresh - essential to drop the diff?

Hi!  This is Liesl, a 1976 2002 Base with 1974 Frankenparts... purchased from Craigslist.  She is running (barely) and driving (rough).  I am Sally (yes, a girl).

As a beginner shade tree mechanic, I chose to tackle suspension first.  With the help of Blunttech, IE, and Pelican, I have a good jump on parts.  I have read the Owner's Manual, BMW Service book, Haynes Repair Manual, 02' Restoration Guide, and BMW Workshop Manual.  I am also a voracious student/lurker of this site and am currently enrolled in the University of YouTube.

So... first noob question:  is it essential that I drop the differential with the rear subframe to "refresh" the suspension?  I am nervous about disconnecting the driveshaft, flex joint, and exhaust given I am currently playing at Level 1.  Thoughts, tips, and advice?

IMG_5661.jpeg

IMG_5818.jpeg

IMG_5804.jpeg

IMG_5807.jpeg

IMG_5808.jpeg

14 hours ago, Salamander said:

is it essential that I drop the differential with the rear subframe to "refresh" the suspension?

No real need to drop the subframe unless you plan on changing swing arm bushings.

If you are planning on removing the subframe, for sure disconnect drive shaft and take the diff out first. Suckers heavy

Is that a rear subframe mount I see on top of your new struts?

Looks like you already have Bilsteins on rear at least, something wrong with them? Why new struts/shocks?

Edited by tech71
  • Like 1

76 2002 Survivor

71 2002 Franzi

85 318i  Doris

It entirely depends on what you want to 'refresh'-

from the pile of parts, I see a subframe bushing, and at that point,

it's so much EASIER to lower the subframe, clean it all up, change everything,

and then reinstall it.