New member with a barn find & big project

Hey all!

New guy here, I've been active online and in the BMW community for a while, but new to 2002's.  I have two E36 M3's, an M50 swapped E30, and an E60M5 (with the Dinan Stroker 😁) that I've been enjoying with my son and wrenching on for a few years.  He's heading to tech school this fall in the auto mechanic program and has really become passionate about cars, restorations, performance and fun, not something you see too often in an 18 year old!

We just picked up a '71 2002 that has been in storage in a shed in WI for the past 12+ years.  Bummer of a story, but the previous owner had been collecting parts and pieces for the car to become a retirement project, then he passed away a little over 12 years ago so everything has sat in their shed since then.  Car is in pretty good shape, very minimal rust (a lot less than the E36 and E30's that we own!) and it came with an absurd amount of parts.  I think the PO was a bit of a hoarder actually, for example I'm not sure what I need with 10 window crank handles for one car.  Or 2 complete engines and another complete engine worth of parts/block etc. 

Anyways, I'm excited to be starting this project with my son, we have high aspirations and hopes and are planning on documenting/blogging as much as possible, maybe even putting up a Youtube channel to document as much as we can.  I've been doing a ton of research here already, and I'm sure will have a million questions as we go along.  Thanks in advance for this excellent resource and all your help!

IMG_0643.JPEG

IMG_0018.JPEG

IMG_0032.JPEG

IMG_0048.jpeg

• Like 6

Welcome to the '02 fraternity/sorority.  Lots of friendly folks with advice, and the archives are loaded with good information.