Is Polaris Metallic Paint (060) really metallic paint?

When I wrote to BMW archives I received an email back that the original color on my '74 was "Polaris Metallic" (Code 060), which makes sense to me as that is more or less the current color. However, I am perhaps being stuck on the word "metallic". If I have a look at my car right now, it seems silver/gray, but I don't see it as true metallic paint. I know my car was repainted once in the past, maybe they didn't use the right color? Also, I know from searching on this site that Polaris had variants of names "neu, PVC, etc..."

Anyway, I bring this up as I'm getting the car repainted soon, and I'll be asking for Polaris, paint code 060. Should my expectations be a metallic paint? From my research, it seems @Conserv is an authority on the matter, does anyone happen to know?

Thanks, 

Ric 

Edited by ricsix

I work in the automotive finishes industry, so I can say Polaris is absolutely metallic, contains aluminum flakes to give that effect. Will also contain a pinch of carbon black and potentially some other "shader" pigments to give the correct look. 

• Thanks 1

All the variations of Polaris, since its introduction in 1964, were metallic paints. Most of the early versions were single stage — as two-stage automotive paints had not yet been invented — but, at least beginning with Polaris PVC-frei (introduced during the 1973 model year), Polaris was a two-stage paint.

All Polaris paint failed. Period. BMW and Glasurit could not create a Polaris paint — or any metallic paint — that didn’t craze, crack, and, eventually fall off, at least from areas that were exposed to light. Underhood areas turned golden yellow while trunk interiors often survived intact.