Adjustable Control Arms, take 2

Hello again to the 02 community.

After this,

I was discouraged by this idea and took a few months break from trying to build these things. I threw a lot of work in the trash...

This is my first time manufacturing something like this by myself, so this has been an extensive & expensive learning experience. I’ve actually had a really fun time doing this so hopefully you guys like and I can offer you some more stuff. I’ve designed some other components that I think are pretty cool.

My goal was an adjustable setup that retained decent street manners, was really good for B-road ripping, could perform track duty, and didn’t require any subframe modification. I found new machinist/suppliers, dialed in the design, and talked to some people. This is what I have now.

3-17.01.jpgIMG_4819.jpg

IMG_4823.jpg

This configuration allows a camber adjustment of 2.4°. Stock front end camber is +0.5° +- 0.5° with no provision for adjustment. At the shortest setting, these arms set the wheels at 0°, allowing a 0° to -2.4° camber range. If you want a -0.5° to -2.9° range or +0.5° to -1.9 range etc, let me know. Caster can be adjusted slightly as well. You’ll run into wheel well interference if you try to get crazy. 

I’ve done my best to build a product I’m proud of. To my knowledge I have cut zero corners and have used the best components that I know of. Each part is made in the USA minus the plastic bushings in the clevis, those are German. 

All yellow plated hardware is AN aircraft stuff; jam nuts are $3 each... If you’re not familiar with https://www.aircraftspruce.com/, please go look. It’s the best site ever. Super fast shipping and just cool good stuff. Also good chromoly pricing.

The big polished stainless joint on the control arm is a johnny joint. I wanted to make a control arm that still had a level of street-ability. I was designing a bushed heim setup to make myself and then found these. They are pretty trick. RockJock mfg'd.