Skotso

Should I take the plunge?

30 posts / 809 viewsLast Reply

I've recently started toying with the idea of purchasing what has long been my grail vintage car - a 2002 Turbo.  Its a lot of money, and they're fairly rare.  I love my cars, I drive my cars, and often something breaks.  I'm concerned about the kind of maintenance that a turbo might require, as well as access to parts unique to the turbo(though I assume there is a fair amount of crossover of parts shared with the regular 2002).  I am not a mechanic and do only the very minimal maintenance my self (change oil, change a bulb). I live in NYC and have yet to find a really good, trustworthy 02 mechanic over the last decade. I was hoping that you, the enthusiasts here could give me some very basic guidance on whether or not I should take this plunge. Do I go whole hog, or just let the dream die?

The 2002 Turbo is every bit as reliable as a standard 2002.  There are some unique pieces on a Turbo that can be hard to find should you need them.  Most of them are not what I would call normally consumable items, or things that wear out easily.  The biggest problem with a 2002 Turbo are usually poor or sloppy maintenance in the past.  There was a time when they were just a old BMW and more often than not someone that did not know what they were doing tried to repair it with a $0 budget and close to 0 skill.  They are now worth enough that people that know what they are doing are able to afford to repair them properly and as such the cost to buy a really good one is quite high.  

You are better off finding one that has been restored that you are able to inspect it before the sale.  Buying a $75k project and thinking you can Turn it into a $150k car for an additional $75k can quickly bite you in the ass.  By this time all of the good restoration projects have been found and the ones that are left usually have big enough issues (RUST) and are missing some of the unique Turbo parts and/or original engine.