FLEMINGO

My project finally blew the M10, sell, rebuild or swap?

16 posts / 697 viewsLast Reply

Well, this day has come a lot sooner than I had hoped. Ive been restoring a 76' 2002 since I was 15 years old, and I may have to part with her. There is an oil leak behind the oil filter housing and the car has almost no compression, the shop told me that its either time for a rebuild or an engine swap. Im currently not in the best financial situation but I would definitely regret selling the car for the rest of my life. I was hoping that people on this forum who have experience either rebuilding or engine swapping 2002's could give me some wisdom, what would be the ballpark figure for a rebuild or an m20 swap (or a cheaper swap)? I realize these numbers can vary wildly depending on the scope of the project but I would love for someone to convince me to dump more money into my wonderful little car. Any help in this is greatly appreciated.

(edited)

First step would be to find a mechanic or member who can look at your engine and give you a idea of whats really wrong with it maybe it just a head gasket or maybe it's all blowed up hard to tell from your post. You might find a used serviceable engine on the board here or rebuild your old engine but IMHO that will cost you 4 grand or more. A m20 swap is not exactly a bolt in and most engines are old and worn just like the m10 plus you'l be buying a new radiator and  a tranny, along with other parts that will add to the cost even if the m20 is cheap. 

Edited by Son of Marty
  • Like 1

(edited)