• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

02 specific tools?

Fletcher

Noob question I’m sure, but noob I am..

I’m about to embark on a 1976 02 restoration project.  I’ve never worked on a BMW before.  I’ve done a limited amount of as-needed repairs to other cars (Japanese & American) and my tool kit at this point is all pretty generic craftsman mechanic tools.  My project will involve repair & replacement of body panels, interior furnishings and the installation of replacement engine/trans & driveshaft.  

Are there BMW/02 specific tools I will need? And if so, any recommendations for inexpensive ways or places to source those?

thank you!

You'll need to pick up a metric set of sockets & wrenches for the 2002.  Craftsman, Husky or Kobalt will all do the job.  There are a few special things (super-thin or ground down wrench for driveshaft work) but those will get you started.  Good luck!

John in VA

'74 tii "Juanita"  '85 535i "Goldie"  '86 535i "M-POSSTR"  

'03 530i "Titan"  '06 330ci "ZHPY"

bmw_spin.gif

Welcome to the FAQ!  You'll find lots of great info here, along with a couple grouchy people (myself included).  There are lots of great 2002 guys up in your area.

Here's a couple tools that come to mind, not exactly bmw-specific.  

1) 2002 "blue binder" factory repair manual: It's available as a .pdf here on the FAQ.

2) Bearing Race Kit: From HF or similar.  It makes installing bearing races a breeze.

3) Hydraulic Press

4) Plastic trim/fastener removal tools (cheap off of amazon)

5) Flare Nut Wrenches

6) Pop-Rivet Gun and rivets

7) 02 Restoration Guide (by Mike Macartney)

8 Feeler gauge

• Like 1